Jambalaya Salad

One afternoon in the summer of 2014, I stopped in at the Zoar Valley Inn with a friend of mine for lunch.  On the “Specials” board was listed a “Jambalaya Salad” & since I love any kind of salad & would always try anything new, I ordered it.  I fell in love with it with my first taste & the next time I stopped in, I asked the cook for the recipe.  She gladly gave it to me; she said that I was the only person who liked it!

The recipe she gave me came from http://www.recipesource.com/ethnic/americas/cajun/02/rec0273.html.  I have to say that Recipesource is one of my favorite recipe websites & I have gotten lots of great recipes from here.

Being New Year’s Eve, I wanted to make something special for the evening that mixed the special foods I wanted to eat (ham, shrimp, something green), but was still light & economical.  Jambalaya Salad is perfect for this.  It’s also easy to add or delete ingredients as desired.  I added pepperoni to the mix this time but I have added cooked polish sausage, medium or large shrimp, or chunked crab meat.

Jambalaya Salad

2 cups cooked rice

1/2 cup chopped celery

1/2 cup chopped green pepper

1/4 cup chopped red onion

1/2 cup ham, chopped

6 ounces salad shrimp

3/4 cup Italian salad dressing

6 slices bacon, cooked to crumbly

Combine all ingredients except bacon.  Chill at least 30 minutes.  Crumble bacon over the salad just before serving.  Serves at least 4 people.

jambalaya salad 2 putting cooked rice in bowl to coolPut the cooked rice into a bowl to cool before adding any of the other ingredients.  Sometimes I set it out on my porch to “hurry up” the cooling process.

jambalaya salad 4 chopped vegies

While the rice is cooling, chop up the vegies & the meats & mix them in a bowl.

jambalaya salad 5 mixed up & ready to chill

When the rice is cool, mix in the vegies, the meats, the shrimp, the salad dressing & the seasonings.  Cover & chill.

jambalaya salad 6 ready to eat

Just before serving, crumble the bacon on top.  A few drops of hot sauce is fabulous too!!


					
Leave a Reply

